Write thoughts about To Kill a Mockingbird and share them with your Cross-Country partner and new friends! MAKE SURE you only use your FIRST name, and add your STATE after your post!
Mykenzie
1/29/2013 09:14:53 am

I am about half way through the book now and really enjoy it. I was really curious about Boo Radley. Is really as bad as the town think he is? I really hope that Scout sees him. Maybe her description of him will clear up some of my questions about Boo Radley. If someone has finished the book and knows whether or not she sees him, do not tell me. I don't want any spoilers.

Reply
Preston
1/30/2013 07:29:37 am

Although I am only a few chapters into the book, I have also become curious about Boo. He is like a ghost in a scary story to the kids of Maycomb, shrouded in mystery. I cannot wait to find out more about him.

Reply
Betsy
2/1/2013 09:18:34 am

Heehee, I know what happens...

Reply
Michaelle Indiana
2/2/2013 11:53:53 am

I don't know if you've finished the book by now, but once you do all of your questions about him will become pretty clear. The main message about boo is that people are not as they seem and that you must step into their shoes to really identify with them. Once you do this, which you will at the end, you will see exactly how Boo really is.

Reply
A. J. (Oklahoma)
2/3/2013 12:29:23 pm

Though I find it odd that he is kept hidden in the hose, I'm sure that the reason is much deeper than we might think. Judging from his kindness to Scout and Jem i'd say that he is probably just misunderstood. However he still may be dangerous somehow. We'll just have to keep reading on to find out.

Reply
Jake P. (Oklahoma)
2/10/2013 04:02:49 am

Boo Radley is is still a very mysterious character up to the point of the book I am in! I believe Harper Lee is making Boo such a mysterious character to reveal to society how much we actually judge others; our society judges others daily when we are not even aware of it ( I do it daily, and it is something I try hard not to do.) I can not wait to see what happens with Boo! I highly doubt he will turn out to be as bad as he is portrayed to be.

Reply
Katie S. (Indiana)
3/10/2013 05:33:46 am

I agree, she makes Boo sound very mysterious, and even a bit scary at times. I am now finished with the book, but at first I thought he was just a crazy character out in to keep the reader interested. Now I know the author was trying to send a deeper message, and she did that by developing Boo in the way she did.

Reply
Kiana (Indiana)
3/11/2013 08:23:40 am

I never really got very into the book. I am not a fan of reading but Boo was deffinately a very mysterious character which I liked but at times I wished it was more blunt.

Braedon Menchhofer (Indiana)
3/10/2013 08:15:40 am

I was wondering what you guys thought of the ending of "To kill a Mockingbird". I liked the ending I just wondering what others thought.

Reply
Mykenzie
1/29/2013 09:15:47 am

Sorry I forgot to add my state at the end. I am from Indiana.

Reply
1/30/2013 04:28:05 am

We want to try to get some responses going:

We think Boo Radley will end up being a very mis-judged person who in the end will help Scout out in some way, and they will end up being good friends. Some of us think it would be really weird for a young kid to be friends with someone who is so much older. Others think that since it's the 1930s that it wouldn't be. What do you think?

Reply
Michaelle Indiana
2/2/2013 12:02:29 pm

Well, I can't really say what I think about this since I already know what really happens, but if I were to have thought about it, I wouldn't have assumed they'd become good friends, but I don't think it's weird for Scout to be friends with him. Scout is very innocent, and wouldn't have given a second thought on the fact that he was so much older, and with Boo being thought very poorly of by the people in the prejudice society he lives in, I don't think he would really want to bring any more attention to himself than he already has.

Reply
Lauren Blanchard (Indiana)
2/3/2013 11:31:21 am

I don't think it would be weird. People today are friends with people double or triple their age. Even though Scout is quite young, she is mature and smart enough to determine if the friendship between Boo Radley and herself became too weird or out of hand. If Boo Radley did become friends with Scout, I think Scout could have a great impact on Mr. Boo Radley's life or the other way around.

Reply
Anandi (oklahoma)
2/5/2013 05:55:39 am

I agree, I think Boo Radley is a very misjudged person.I don't think he is as mean and crazy as everyone thinks. i don't think it would be weird for to be friend with someone older than you. Nowadays people are friends with other people much older than them.i think Boo is gonna help scout out in the future.

Reply
Shannon, Oklahoma
3/3/2013 10:01:09 am

I agree that Boo Radley is misjudged because he is different from everyone else. I disagree that he is not crazy though, I think he is crazy. I also think it is quite strange to be friends with someone a lot older than you.

Adam (IN)
2/18/2013 08:31:31 am

Honestly I think that any period of time it would be seen as odd for people with such a radical age difference to be acquainted. I think the thing that would be a variable on societys reaction is the town. In Maycomb County, Alabama, I think it wouldnt be seen as quite so odd in a town such as this where everyone knows everyone and their brother. Whereas in say New York CIty in the same period and a child knows the old man in the apartment next door, I think that would be taken quite differently. In a small town, there is some connection to everyone whether you talk to the family as opposed to New York where the number of strangers is exponetially larger. Even in the 1930's and before, there were still the kidnappings etc. which made parents leary of strangers, but the diference was it was restricted to the big city (for the most part).

Reply
Ben W. (Indiana)
2/18/2013 08:35:26 am

I think that it all depends whether or not it is weird for a young person to be friends with someone much older. Boo Radley, in my opinion could be being misjudged but just as easily he might not be. I could see scout meeting Boo and discovering that he is heart by what others say about him. This could make him just a normal person. I could also see Boo Radley still having something different going on with himself. This would probably not make it good for him to be friends with Scout.

Reply
Katie S. (Indiana)
3/10/2013 05:38:06 am

I do not think it is weird to be friends with someone older then you to a certain extent. I think it would be questionable for a 10 year old to be best friends with a 30 year old, but I also believe that some people interact with their elders better then their peers. So, i believe that it is not fair that question in a generic way but, instead in a very situational manner.

Reply
Ben Schwartz
3/11/2013 11:46:05 am

Yes you are right. Boo is a very missed judged person. In the end he will be one friends with the children because he saves them from bob. This shouldn't spoil anything now because I think everyone should be about finished reading.

Reply
Amy Indiana
3/11/2013 02:19:48 pm

I can see that he is someone who can be easily misjudged by others. Especially with his infamous reputation of stabbing his father with a pair of scissors. Scout is still a child and children can see things from a different point of view than adults can. This may help as she tries to unravel the mysteries behind Boo Radley and discover if he really is as bad as everyone says.

Reply
Caitlin Center Oklahoma
1/31/2013 09:51:58 am

I'm part of Mrs. Swisher's 6th hour class, and I believe it wouldn't be weird for Boo and Scout to be friends. It was the 1930s. They didn't have to worry about the things we do now. Also, Scout is very mature for her age and would be able to tell if it was getting weird. Not to mention Jem would probably tag along. These days it would be a completely different story unless it was an adult you could trust.

Reply
Emma Oklahoma
1/31/2013 10:42:17 am

I am intrested in finding out why Boo Radley has taken to the Finch children. Does he want them to see him? Is he just as curious about them as Jem and Scout are about him. So many questions, if anyone has an idea; please help me out with this.

Reply
Michaelle Indiana
2/2/2013 12:06:13 pm

I think he has had his own intentions, and that everyone in the book should just leave it at that. He does seem to be as interested of the children as the children can be of him, he may even be a bit protective…

Reply
Julie (Indiana)
2/4/2013 11:10:44 am

I agree with Michaelle in that Boo Radley is probably interesting in the children and vice versa. Maybe this is because he sees himself in them or maybe he just feels lonely after all these years. I think that maybe he yearns for his youth, but this is just my current opinion.

Zoe Indiana
2/10/2013 01:30:31 am

I feel like Boo Radley is really mysterious and I think Harper Lee wanted us to have all these questions about him so we think about it all the time and through the whole entire book. I think she created him to give the book more suspense and mystery.

Reply
Katie Indiana
2/18/2013 04:46:59 am

I definitely agree with you Zoe. Every single detail of a book is purposely placed in the plot by the author. Without all the questions we have about Boo Radley, the book wouldn't be nearly as suspenseful nor interesting.

Hayden (Indiana)
3/11/2013 07:43:06 am

I agree with this. Boo radley is a really mysterious figure in the story, and Harper Lee created a lot of suspense in the story by keeping Boo to be a mystery.

Holly (OK)
2/21/2013 08:27:21 am

Scout and Jem may be the only children, or even adults, who are not so terrified of Boo Radley that they avoid contact with any of the Radley's. I'm sure that Boo has noticed them walking by the Radley property or Scout's accidental roll into their yard. They're probably the only children he knows.

Reply
Emma D. (Oklahoma)
3/3/2013 03:25:51 am

I'm with Holly on this one. They might be the only people outside of his own family that he knows. Everybody knows him, but he knows barely anyone. Could you imagine what that would feel like? It would be aweful, because they would avoid you, your house, your family and anything else connected with you.

Bryan (OK)
3/3/2013 10:06:17 am

I agree with you on that. Before the whole killing thing Jem and Scout provided Boo access to the outside world without him having to leave his house.

Hayden (Indiana)
3/11/2013 07:46:54 am

I agree with you that Scout and Jem may be Boo Radley's only friends because after the killing thing, those two are really the only people that he could communicate with in the world outside of his house.

Brad D. (Oklahoma)
3/2/2013 09:46:48 pm

It might not have any deep meaning whatsoever. Maybe he's just a decent guy who likes the indoors and has a soft spot for children. Knowing that this is a classic book, though, I'm sure it does indeed have many layers.

Reply
Amy Indiana
3/11/2013 02:26:16 pm

If only books really were that simple, it'd be so much easier to understand. Instead, books like this one are connected to the past. Each of the character's past shapes who they are and what role they play in the story, whether it's the protagonist or antagonist.

Katie S. (Indiana)
3/10/2013 05:42:02 am

I think that Harper Lee wanted us to think of Boo in a bad manner, so at the end she can resolve this and in doing so teach us one of the messages this book conveys. I think she wants us to make a judgement without all the facts knowing the judgement would be wrong. I think that she is trying to teach people to not judge before they know all the facts.

Reply
Amy Indiana
3/11/2013 02:29:35 pm

This is a very interesting idea. I haven't thought about it like that and I now admire the book a little more and the efforts of Harper Lee. By making Boo sound like a bad person due to all the rumors, we tend to judge based on those rumors and how the townspeople react them him without really knowing the guy. Harper Lee did an amazing job of shaping the story out and thinking through the plot.

Emma Davis Oklahoma
1/31/2013 10:43:26 am

Sorry forgot my last name.

Reply
Michaelle Indiana
2/2/2013 12:31:34 pm

You may not want to put your last name on here...

Reply
Noah M (Indiana)
2/19/2013 05:25:57 am

We're a bunch of miscreants willing and able to commit identity theft.

Can I have your Social Security number?

Betsy Bleed
2/1/2013 09:17:12 am

(I'm one of Mrs. Wisehart's second hour class) At first I didn't see Scout and Jem's interest in Boo as much of a friendly gesture. If you look at one of the journal prompts, it asks why children have a tendency to make fun of those who are different, and I think that's kind of what they were doing. Their intentions weren't cruel, just curious; but they merely wanted to lure him out, catch a glimpse of him, try to understand the myths. I agree, Boo is being rather misjudged.

Reply
Katie S. (Indiana)
3/10/2013 05:46:59 am

I agree that Boo is being very misjudged, but I also think that it is in a kids nature to want to find out things, like a secret. So to them I think that Boo is a secret and they want to find anything about him they can but also, any way they can.

Reply
Jonah (Indiana)
3/11/2013 08:12:03 am

I think that the childrens' curiosity is more of the driving force in their actions. They have heard all of these stories, and it seems like they want to know what is true. It really is interesting, and I think that you're correct in the judgment though.

Reply
Michaelle Indiana
2/2/2013 12:20:27 pm

What I would like to know, if anyone would like to respond, is what are your thoughts on the connection between the title of this book and its actual contents. Many people have said, “It’s not about a mockingbird at all", and I think that they have a point, but I think the meaning goes deeper than just the actual bird. I just want to know if anyone made any connections or had any thoughts on this. My thoughts were that killing a mockingbird, as described in the book, is a sin because they aren’t harmful or bothersome. Many of Maycomb’s citizens have been hurt and misunderstood because of other folks’ ignorance and unwillingness to step into their shoes, which is just like killing a Mockingbird. Just like these misunderstood citizens, the Mockingbird was only doing what it knew how to do.

Reply
Lauren Blanchard (Indiana)
2/3/2013 11:19:55 am

My thoughts on the title is pretty much the same as Michelle's. The mockingbirds play such happy music and that it is a sin to kill them because they have never done anything wrong to anybody but sing music. The people of Maycomb would never kill a mockingbird, but metaphorically they have to other people. For example, they could have criticized or made fun of a person, but the person being made fun of may have done nothing except be him or herself. Like the mockingbird, it could only be itself.

Reply
Zoe Indiana
2/10/2013 01:15:19 am

I think the title is really appropriate for the book. To be honest, at the beginning, I wasn't quite sure how it all fit together. Now that i have finished the book, it all makes sense. I don't want to give anything away but the whole idea of killing a mocking bird and how it is a sin is exactly what people in the town are doing to other people. These people are "killed" by other people's injustice and their unwillingness to understand their situation

Reply
Emma Oklahoma
2/12/2013 09:47:42 am

I think the title is very much connected to the book. Even though it may not seem like it to others, the saying of don't ever kill a mockingbird is kind of in relation in the superstions and way people thought. It would be like saying- back then- that you don't mix white and black races.

Reply
Amy Indiana
3/11/2013 02:38:45 pm

Honestly, I had trouble making the connection as well. The title is not talking about to literally kill a mockingbird. The name of the bird itself, "mock", suggests that it teases or laughs at in a scornful manner. In reality, all its doing is singing its heart out. It's not harming anyone so why kill it? Judging someone, laughing at them, and acting scornful to them without knowing them can be compared to the sin of killing an innocent bird, the mockingbird.

Reply
Lauren Blanchard (Indiana)
2/3/2013 11:09:37 am

I am have just read a few chapters through the book, and I can't stop reading! Scout and her brother are so creative in whatever they do, such as performing books they have read or heard of in their backyard or the things they do with Dill. Also, I am very curious of about this Boo Radley character. The way Scout, her brother, and Dill describe the stories and superstitions about him make me wonder if he will play a big role in the story later on.

Reply
Julie (Indiana)
2/4/2013 11:07:59 am

I imagine that since they live in a more rural area, they would have to find some way to entertain themselves, and acting out books is a great form of entertainment. I'm also sure that Boo Radley will come to play a big role in the story since I feel like Jem's injury might involve Boo in one way or another.

Reply
Zoe Indiana
2/10/2013 01:20:50 am

My prediction about Boo Radley is that in the end, he is going to save the day or make something better. I feel like this sort of them is re- occurring in different books. The theme is where the mysterious character slowly comes out and blossoms and gives a big impact on the story.

Reply
Anna (Indiana)
2/4/2013 05:45:51 am

Interactions between Scout and her brother remind me of when I was younger. I would always play with my brother. We would act our movies, create new games, and build Lego cities. It was lots of fun! I also remember perfecting the games to make sure they were just right. This reminds me of how Scout and her brother made sure that their game of acting out what the Radley family did was just right.

Reply
Zoe Indiana
2/10/2013 01:26:21 am

This game playing that scout and her brother do reminded me of me and my sisters playing. When we were littler, we had our own "Theater" company and we would put on shows for our parents. We would literally spend hours making sure everything we did was right. It was so much fun and really good bonding time with my sisters.

Reply
Lauren Blanchard (Indiana)
2/17/2013 02:36:17 am

It reminds me of when my siblings and I would play outside from dawn to dusk, having fun no matter how bad the weather. We had such creative minds; we would make up new games every day. When we were tired, we would put on little short plays about everything such as recent movies, books, or our lives at home.

Reply
Mason
2/5/2013 07:40:38 am

:) I actually liked this book so far, but I am definitely not sure what is going to happen later in the book. I am currently looking for forshadowing. I will keep everyone updated.

Reply
LaQuecya
2/5/2013 09:28:51 am

Atticus is not as bring as I interpreted him to be from Scout and Jem's perspective. He can do so much than what they knew, but he doesn't talk about it. Why!?1?

Reply
LaQuecya
2/5/2013 09:29:37 am

*boring

Reply
LaQuecya
2/5/2013 09:30:09 am

boring

Reply
LaQuecya
2/5/2013 09:30:21 am

-boring

Reply
LaQuecya
2/5/2013 09:30:41 am

I meant to put boring .

Reply
LaQuecya
2/5/2013 09:31:33 am

I meant to put "not as boring"

Reply
Katie S. (Indiana)
3/10/2013 05:51:24 am

I believe all parents do this in some degree, I think he does this so his children don't try to compeet with him. All kids try to compete with one another, and I think that he didn't want his kids to try and compete against one another for his attention or praise.

Reply
A.J. (Oklahoma)
2/5/2013 09:56:29 am

I was kind of confused about what Mrs. Dubose was ill with. Atticus kept saying she was sick but never really elaborated on it. From what I understand she was a morphine addict but I don't think that was what was killing her. Ninety year old women tend to not be drug users. What does everyone else think she was ill with?

Reply
Lauren Blanchard (Indiana)
2/17/2013 02:44:17 am

I have to agree that Mrs. Dubose was a mean women, but that could have been the affects of the morphine. When someone is going through a lot pain, usually they want to be left alone like Mrs. Dubose. I believe that she was brave for trying to release or get rid of her addiction.

Reply
Adam (IN)
2/18/2013 08:52:50 am

Im guessing it was one of those situations where she "died of old age" and basically her organs just shut down like often happens with older people. Morphine would've been the "go-to" drug in the day for any pain she may have been having, Arthritis or something that was a disease which actually killed her.

Reply
Christina Hubbard (OK)
3/2/2013 02:49:39 am

I think that Mrs. Dubose did'nt just try morphine for the fun of it. I think that in her earlier years she was in some type of accident, or maybe she was depressed and she was prescribed morphine; then after she healed she just couldnt seem to ween herself from it. Either way I still don't think should be any excuse for her to be so bitter and cutting. Honestly I feel bad for her; I don't think she went to heaven. It seemed like the only pleasure she had in life was to make others miserable. If you only find joy in other peoples dispair, then what a sad life you live.

Reply
Demi, Oklahoma
2/6/2013 08:15:35 am

In Chapter 11, Atticus said that he thinks Mrs. Dubose was a woman of courage. I think that Atticus was right. Mrs. Dubose was a mean woman, but I think that was just a cover-up for the pain she was going through while trying to break her addiction. When things are hard, you kind of harden your shell. That's what she did. She could've stayed with her addiction until she died, but she was strong and by inferring, she probably fought off the temptations of relapsing while she tried to break her addiction. She was brave. She faced her hardship straight on and fought it and won. Atticus was right to think that Mrs. Dubose was a woman of courage, but what do you guys think?

Reply
Paige, Oklahoma
2/6/2013 10:51:00 am

I agree. I think Mrs. Dubose was very brave for attempting to break her addiction before she died. I think her illness, or addiction to morphine, affected the way she acted toward others, and the things that she said. Her actions and sayings could have been a way to cope with the pain, and focus her attention on something else. Most of the time addicts aren't classified as brave, but as cowardly or weak; I think Mrs. Dubose knew that, and she wanted to die knowing she was courageous enough to overcome her addiction. Mrs. Dubose had arthritis also, correct?

Reply
A.J. (Oklahoma)
2/7/2013 11:39:49 am

Anyone who can break a morphine addiction at that age is certainly brave. I guess understanding what she was going through was kind of clouded by the book being told from a young child's perspective. People do tend to get really mean and irritated when coming off of strong addictions. Perhaps she held on to dear life just long enough to break her addiction and then died in peace. Yes, she did have arthritis.

Zachary, #1 State: Oklahoma
2/8/2013 07:29:50 am

I agree. Mrs. Dubose was just like Atticus Finch had described. Mrs. Dubose knew that she was going to die, but she marched on. That is absolute courage and strength. Although Jem and Scout thought otherwise, Mrs. Dubose should be a role-model for all of us when we are feeling physically and mentally down. If one can push through the hardest challange and not quit, then they can come out victorious. You will be immensely honored and respected.

Reply
Emily G., Oklahoma
2/9/2013 10:00:18 am

Like Anna, the relationship between Scout and Jem remind me of me and my brother. I'm in the position of Jem because I'm the older sibling and I have one brother who is four years younger. As Scout notices at the beginning of Chapter 12 that Jem is beginning to grow up, it reminded me of what my brother and I went through a couple of years ago. When we were little we played together all the time, and when I began to get older I lost interest in some of the things we used to do. I got annoyed with him more over little things and gradually stopped playing with him as much. I saw him as more childish because he didn't understand the things that I did. Now he's in 6th grade and growing up, and I miss the days when we played all day and were so carefree.

Reply
A.J. (Oklahoma)
2/10/2013 09:07:34 am

What's the deal with Aunt Alexandra? Is it just me or is she the second least favorable character next to Francis? I suppose she means well but I don't know, I just can't stand her for some reason. She reeks of condescension and the "high society" of the Old South. I think that Calphurnia is a much better role model for Scout than her. Why did Atticus even agree to let her come?

Reply
Zachary, #1 State: Oklahoma
2/11/2013 09:40:18 am

Well I don't think that Atticus really had a choice in Aunt Alexandra coming to town. The big case with Tom Robinson was taking up all of his energy, and I don't think that he had enough energy to try to defend his parental ways against Aunt Alexandra. Aunt Alexandra in my opinion is not my second least favorite character, but she probably fits into my top 5 of least favorites. Mr. Ewell by far is my least favorite, followed by Miss Ewell.

Reply
Paige, Oklahoma
2/14/2013 07:17:39 am

I think Aunt Alexandra is just a pushy person who wants to have everything her way, the proper way. I think she meant well by coming to "help" Atticus with Jem and Scout, that's just not how it is portrayed. Atticus probably knew that the case would take up a lot of his time, and he would need some more help other than just Calpurnia even though she is a better role model. Atticus also probably thinks that Aunt Alexandra can help Scout fit society's image of what a woman should be, although he tells Scout she is fine the way she is. Aunt Alexandra is not my least favorite, like Zach said Mr. Ewell is definitely my least favorite.

Noah M
2/19/2013 05:28:23 am

You know, I didn't really dislike Mayella. Mostly I felt bad for her. I understand she lied and got an innocent man killed, but I can't help wondering if she really understood the consequences of her actions. I don't think she ever did.
Mr. Ewell, on the other hand...

Adam (IN)
2/18/2013 08:58:17 am

I think this is kind of a "victim of the times" situation. In the 1930's alot of people were foreclosed etc. due to the depression and many families were condensed to one household. I cant imagine the Finch family was spouting money and this was probably one factor. There couldve been some other issue which was never mentioned like maybe marital problems between her and Uncle Jimmy which led them to seperate. I think Atticus let her come mostly because it would be hard to deny family. For example if she was seperated from her husband, and needed somewhere to go, how could Atticus say no?

Reply
Brian, Oklahoma
2/12/2013 08:17:12 am

At the end of Chapter 20, Atticus says his closing statements. What are your opinions on the speech? Do you think it was good or bad? If you could change anything about his speech, what would it be and why?

Reply
Caitlin C (Oklahoma)
2/13/2013 08:05:47 am

I just read chapter 23 and I love what Jem says about Boo Radley. He says maybe Boo WANTS to stay in. I love the idea of this. They were living in a very corrupt town and society even. The fact that Boo would rather stay inside than see all the evil and hate really says something.

Reply
Lauren Blanchard (Indiana)
2/17/2013 02:48:36 am

It makes sense of what Jem is trying to explain. By staying inside from all the corruption and hatred of the town and people, Boo Radley is able to live in peace and not encounter those misfortunes of what people are facing.

Reply
Jessica B (Oklahoma)
2/19/2013 02:12:46 am

I think this says that Boo's character is very ahead of his time, kind of like Atticus. Boo sees that all the prejudice in his town is foolish but also realizes that he alone is not enough to change it. I think it'd be pretty cool if Atticus and Boo would get together and try to make a change in their society.

Reply
Bryan (OK)
3/3/2013 10:14:14 am

It also maybe he is just scared. We learn in the end of the book that he acts more like a child than an adult. Since he was kept in for so long he could be afraid and embarrassed of facing all the people he knew before.

Rachel (Oklahoma)
2/19/2013 09:46:44 am

That is one of my favorite parts of the book. I think he does want to stay in. I have wondered-why doesn't he move? The west during that time was much more accepting. I also think that he is very child-like, shown by his presents to the kids, and at the end of the book. His not wanting to see the evil in the world mirrors Jem's issues with the world being unfair. Jem, however, deals with the unfairness as a part of his growing up. So, if Arthur never dealt with that by staying in his house, did he ever really grow up?

Reply
Rachel (Oklahoma)
2/19/2013 09:49:42 am

Sorry about the duplicate, it said it didn't post.

Rachel (Oklahoma)
2/19/2013 09:48:20 am

That is one of my favorite parts of the book. I think he does want to stay in. I have wondered - why doesn't he move? The west during that time was much more accepting. I also think that he is very child-like, shown by his presents to the kids, and at the end of the book. His not wanting to see the evil in the world mirrors Jem's issues with the world being unfair. Jem, however, deals with the unfairness as a part of his growing up. So, if Arthur never dealt with that by staying in his house, did he ever really grow up?

Reply
Maddie H. (Indiana)
2/14/2013 08:47:18 am

I really like the book so far, I can never tell what's going to happen next and I like that in a book. The only thing I don't like about this book is how much of it is about how badly people treated the African Americans. I think its so awful and wrong how they were treated back then, we are all people and we should all be treated equal. Those are just some of my thoughts on the over all meaning of the story.

Reply
Miranda (Oklahoma)
2/19/2013 07:11:24 am

Unfortunately, in the time period the book is set in, many people thought it was acceptable to treat people of different races with disrespect and outright prejudice. Thankfully there were some individuals who knew the practice of racism was wrong and changed the way most people thought.

Reply
Maddie H. (Indiana)
2/14/2013 08:54:23 am

I am almost to part 2 of the book and I'm still concerned about Boo Radley. How Scout and Jem talk about him, it makes me worried if he's really like that or there just making things up. I really want to get to know Boo more. I want to know if he's really the way the boys perceive him. I think Boos role in the book will just get bigger and bigger. I have to keep reading but all I want to know is, is he as bad as they think he is.

Reply
Rachel (Oklahoma)
2/19/2013 09:34:08 am

I've never gotten the feeling that he is bad, despite the things the children hear about him. I have always felt that he is kind of gentle based on the stuff he leaves for the kids, but then there is the stabbing a family member thing.
I agree that his part will get bigger and bigger, even though as they grow up they think about him less and less. Arthur (Boo) is one of my favorite characters in the book, besides Atticus, mostly because of the mystery surrounding him. I hope you like the ending!

Reply
Michaelle Indiana
2/24/2013 01:33:47 am

Is anyone ever how they seem to be from someone else's perspective? Think about it. Has there ever been anyone who you didn't know that had lots of rumors surrounding them, then when you got to know them, it wasn't true at all? Maybe that's never happened to you, but I'm sure you've seen plenty of movies and TV shows where there've been misunderstandings because people assume things about other people. He's not as bad as they think he is. He's actually very kind, and if you haven't read it already, you'll see that soon.

Reply
A.J. (Oklahoma)
2/14/2013 10:46:51 am

Did anyone else notice the connection between the names of Mayella Ewell and Ewella Maye, the town's phone operator? I haven't been able to find anything about it online. Do you think Harper Lee did this intentionally? If so, why with such an unimportant character? Perhaps it was an unintentional coincidence though. What are your thoughts on it all?

Reply
Noah M (Indiana)
2/19/2013 05:23:52 am

Interesting catch! I didn't notice that. Anyway, my guess is that, as Maye's pretty insignificant, there's not a significant relation. Perhaps Harper Lee just ran out of character names. But then again, perhaps there IS something significant there. Take it as you will, I suppose.

Reply
Noah M (Indiana)
2/19/2013 07:16:53 am

Although, I never did hear that name, either. Where in the book was that?

Holly (OK)
2/21/2013 08:33:51 am

I noticed that too! It was bugging me and I kept mixing them up (I even did that on a quiz...). I'm not finished with the book yet, so I'm wondering if maybe there is more about Eula May towards the end? The only thing I've read about her is that she is a telephone operator. Scout was kind of mocking her profession in the description of her, but I still don't see how that would be any connection. If anyone has read more of the book: Is there more about Eula? Does she have any connection at all to Mayella?

Reply
Kennedy (Oklahoma)
2/19/2013 06:44:36 am

I think it is very interesting how Harper Lee connects the book to her life. It's a way to see what her childhood was like and how the people in her life treated her. What I haven't figured out is who was the "Boo Radley" in Lee's life? Any ideas?

Reply
Kennedy (Oklahoma)
2/19/2013 07:39:14 am

I think Scout is stuck. She is stuck between who she wants to be and who everyone else wants her to be. Aunt Alexandra doesn't agree with how Scout dresses and carries herself, while Scout likes wearing pants and hanging out with the boys. The teachers at school discourage reading, but Scout loves to read with Atticus. She is getting put down for being herself.

Reply
Holly (OK)
2/21/2013 08:40:41 am

I agree that Scout is not allowed to be herself. The only people who truly accept her are Calpurnia, Atticus, Ms. Maudie, and Jem. Aunt Alexandra is always pressing her to be a little lady when clearly she has no desire to wear a dress. Jem wants her to be more mature, like he thinks he is. His is probably the most hurtful nonacceptance for Scout because at the beginning of the novel he and Scout were inseparable. He did not judge her actions. I think the turning point was at the beginning of chapter 21 when Jem yells at her and tells her to just be a girl. I think Jem's disapproval is the only one that really gets to Scout, though. She knows who she is and who she wants to be and she's too young to fully understand the hostility of some people towards others who don't fit within the social 'norm'. She doesn't want to change herself to please anyone.

Reply
2/20/2013 09:35:23 am

I think Scout wants to show her true self, but doesn't because she does not want to disappoint people like her Aunt Alexandra. She seems to be self conscious about every criticism she receives. The put-downs she gets prevents her from being herself, and it's a disappointment.

Reply
Courtney K. (Indiana)
2/21/2013 08:59:49 am

I'm not quite done with the book yet but so far I am really enjoying it. I think the morals in the book are great and some of the characters in the book are very relatable. I can't wait to finish!

Reply
Marilyn C. (Oklahoma)
2/23/2013 06:13:18 am

I find it funny how at the end of the book "To Kill A Mockingbird', Atticus reads a book he randomly choose from Jem's shelf-- and the book turns out to be "The Gray Ghost". It's ironic for those of you who know the summary of "The Gray Ghost". The main character in that book is very similar to our infamous Boo (Arthur) Radley. Both characters are deeply misunderstood and accused frequently of things they actually never did. Tell me what you all think.

Reply
2/23/2013 12:08:18 pm

I would like to discuss the title of the novel: To Kill a Mockingbird. Atticus falsely states that mockingbirds are these innocent and harmless birds, but in reality mockingbirds can be very annoying pests. Did Miss Harper intend the title to be symbolic? If so, who do you think the mockingbird is? Sweet, innocent Tom Robinson or that pest, Bob Ewell?

Reply
Michaelle Indiana
2/24/2013 01:27:40 am

I don't believe the title was ever supposed to symbolize Bob Ewell as a pest. Earlier I stated why I thought the title was To Kill a Mockingbird, and I believe it is because mockingbirds, like Atticus said, are harmless and do not give anyone trouble. Many of the people in Maycomb are as innocent as these birds and are "killed" because they were only doing what they knew how to do. Tom Robinson only knew how to be kind, and the citizens were picking at him and accusing him of something he only believed was right: helping someone. The bird only does what it can, so you shouldn't kill it, much like how they shouldn't have accused Tom.

Reply
Jessica B. (Oklahoma)
3/1/2013 11:52:42 am

After finishing the book, I realized that the "mockingbirds" of the book are Tom Robinson and Boo Radley. Both characters are falsely accused of doing things they didn't do, yet still pay the price for their "actions". Atticus explains mockingbirds as just that. All they do is sing songs, so its a sin to kill them since they didn't do anything wrong. After making this connection I fell in love with the title of the book, and will defiantly take this lesson in to consideration every day.

2/23/2013 12:20:07 pm

I must say this novel did surprise me. I thought that the racism would be over-the-top in this novel (and it was), but I expected the entire novel to revolve around racism. Instead, I felt like it was kind of a back-burner subplot for the real issue: Arthur "Boo" Radley. Although we never gain a description of Mr. Radley, we wonder about him for most of the book, whereas we, the readers, only begin to inquire about this Tom Robinson for less than half of the novel. I had thought that Mr. Robinson would play a larger role than he did, and was sadly mistaken. Who do you feel was more vital to the story, Radley or Robinson?

Reply
Julie (Indiana)
2/24/2013 08:56:11 am

To be honest, after their adventures through the Radley's yard, I did not think about Boo Radley too much afterwards. However, I did know that he would come around again since he had to have been mentioned for a reason. I feel like he was a observer throughout the entire story because he could see many things from his porch, as depicted at the end of the novel. His role in the story however, was more of a illusion set up for the entertainment of the children. Tom Robinson, while introduced much later in the story, played a big part in helping the children grow and learn about the reality of Maycomb. Racism did have a big role in the story, but I think the observation of human behaviors and maturing were the greater themes in the novel.

Reply
Rachel P. (OK)
3/3/2013 03:23:25 am

I think that racism did not have a big role in the story because in the 1930s racism was not a big thing, especially in the small-town south. It seems like a big thing now, but it was not then. I felt that Jem's maturing was a big part of the story too.

Bryan (OK)
3/3/2013 10:19:58 am

I agree with you about the themes. Through the book you see that Scout is extremely mature for her age and same with Jem. Them being able to handle everything as they did shows that.

Zach M. (OK)
2/28/2013 06:02:36 am

*Do not read this if you don't want the ending to be spoiled.

After reading the ending of this story I would say that Arthur "Boo" Radley is the more important character. Tom Robinson is only in about half of the book while Boo Radley is present in To Kill a Mockingbird all the way through the book. Harper Lee's character of Boo Radley is a very interesting character in my opinion even though he is only "physically" seen in the novel for about 1-2 chapters, but I as a reader can't help but feel sorry for him for what he has gone through his entire life.

Reply
Avery M.
3/2/2013 03:23:15 am

I have to agree. Tom was Harper Lee's way of showing the racism of the time, but Boo represented much more. He was cast out of society because of one mistake he made in his childhood and has never been the same since. He shows that anyone different is not welcome in society for no apparent reason. Lee does wait until the very end to make a connection to a mockingbird which I think takes some of Boo's believability away, but does make a good ending.

Avery M. (OK)
3/2/2013 03:31:02 am

I forgot to say my state (OK)

Emma D.(Oklahoma)
3/3/2013 03:19:56 am

I agree with Kate, but I don't think racism is the only subplot. I think there are many subplots combined in this book and at the end they are all summed up and explained when Scout finally steps into Boo Radley's shoes. In my opinion Boo was more important to the story. He saves the kids and is Scout's lesson in the spirit of the whole step in someone else's shoes. Tom Robinson is important as well but Boo radley- in my opinion- is the icing on the cake.

Reply
Collin L (OK)
3/4/2013 07:32:31 am

I think both Tom Robinson and Boo Radley were equally important to the novel. Both were vital in teaching Jem and Scout a lesson, and both promoted two different major themes. While Tom Robinson did not come in until later on in the book, the unfairness of his trial showed to Jem and Scout the major racial discrimination present in that time period. They were not aware of this until the trial because Atticus did not allow such prejudice in his household. I agree that after Jem loses his pants in the Radley fence, Boo Radley is somewhat forgotten by the reader, but he is equally important to the novel. Because of him, Scout finally learns the lesson that was so apparent throughout the novel: “You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view — until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.” When Scout finally looks at things from Boo Radley's perspective in the end, the importance of Boo in the novel is finally shown.

Reply
Jake P. (Oklahoma)
2/24/2013 09:41:00 am

I am almost done with the book, and I have just been thinking about the characters in the book. Now, we all know that Harper Lee is relating most of the characters to people in her life, but if you think about it: all these characters resemble people in our lives. We all have that old neighbor that is annoying and grumpy. Then we have a Miss Maudie, the sweet neighbor whom you absolutely love. Everyone has a neighbor who you think is creepy or curious, when you know absolutely nothing about. We all have that Aunt that is pushy and pushes us to do what she wants us to do. We all know a good guy that everyone in town loves, and who wants the best for everyone. It's just something to think about. Harper Lee might not just have been trying to relate the characters to people in her life, but relate them to people in ours and make the message so much more meaningful.

Reply
Zach M. (OK)
3/2/2013 03:02:50 am

Throughout "To Kill a Mockingbird" we see Jem maturing with age. As Jem matures we see him not wanting to play with Scout as much. The reader could just imagine the hurt and confusion that scout is feeling. I have never felt what Scout is feeling because I was a only child for thirteen years. I am not exactly sure when I had my decision to become more "mature", and I don't think that there was a particular event that inspired me to become more mature. It was more of a process over a couple years. I just matured slowly along with my friends. How about you guys? When did you all mature, and what were you feeling as you went through the process?

Reply
Rachel P. (OK)
3/3/2013 03:18:23 am

I don't think I really matured until my cousin came to live with us, and I started to be responsible for her. I still feel responsible for her. I think Jem felt responsible for Scout, too. And when he started telling her to act like a girl, I think he was really trying to be responsible for her growing up, too.

Reply
Avery M. (OK)
3/2/2013 03:56:18 am

An important thing to keep in mind is the time period. Harper Lee published the book in 1960. America, especially the south, was still very racist. The book was set in the 30's, an even more racist time where segregation was normal (I wonder why there wasn't even a mention of seperate but equal). If Bob Ewell would have tried to frame Tom today, Tom would have been found innocent and Bob would probably be charged with a hate crime. This drastic change makes it harder to relate parts of the book to present day.

Reply
Zachary M. (OK)
3/2/2013 09:58:38 am

Well I think the reason that there were no "seperate but equal" facilities was because 1.) This is the Great Depression, the last thing a store owner needs is to spend more money on a seperate facility; 2.) Maycomb in "To Kill a Mockingbird" is described as a small town, and I would think that most small towns in this time period wouldn't have these types of facilities. If the store owner would have had the seperate facility, but they did not have the money to build one. They would simply just refuse to service the potential customer.

Reply
Bryan (OK)
3/3/2013 10:27:16 am

In the 30's there were seperate facilities but nothing was egual about them in that time even though it was the law.

Reply
Derek Edmundson (Oklahoma)
3/2/2013 07:44:24 am

To Kill a Mockingbird is now one of my favorite books and I am really thakful that the school made us read because I would have most likely never read it.It gives us an insight to a time when racial discrimination is frequent and I am thankful we will never have to go through something of that magnitude. I also really like most of all the characters in the book and how Harper Lee described them and their personalities.

Reply
Mia (Indiana)
3/2/2013 10:18:11 pm

As I've gotten further and further into the book, I have began enjoying it more. It started off really slow and I wasn't sure I was going to like it. It's one of those books that you can't put down because you want to know what happens in the end. I really enjoy books like these, and so far I have enjoyed "To Kill a Mockingbird."

Reply
Jacob Domrique (Oklahoma)
3/2/2013 11:14:28 pm

This book was a great book to read. I finished it a while ago and I am happy that I did. It helped me learn a lot of things about that time period. I also learned about certain themes that can be used to help me carry out my life. I am glad that we had to read this book for school. I think that all the discussions in class have helped me understand it better.

Reply
Dejanece(Oklahoma)
3/3/2013 02:10:15 am

I really enjoyed this book! It was boring at first, but it got interesting when I started to actually read it, I'm really glad we read this book.Throughout the book I was curious to find out who Boo Radley really was, and it turned out at the end he wasn't as bad as the kids thought he was.

Reply
Rachel P. (OK)
3/3/2013 03:29:38 am

The ending of the book was great! I wish Harper Lee had written another, but I can see why she didn't. Most sequels aren't as good as the origionals, and it would seem like a letdown. What would she write about? To Kill a Mockingbird was about Jem and Scout's childhood, and them learning to grow up. Them as teenagers would be kind of weird, don't you think?

Reply
Paige, Oklahoma
3/3/2013 04:40:51 am

Out of all the books I have had to read for school, this one was the best. The book never got too boring and it kept you interested the entire time. The mystery of Boo Radley was my favorite part. Harper Lee wrote an amazing book, and I think it's good she stopped with this one because no other book of hers would compare to this one.

Reply
Kaitlin Giager, Oklahoma
3/3/2013 06:28:18 am

The ending is definitely my favorite part of the book. Especially when Atticus and Mr. Tate are trying to find out ways to defend Boo for saving the kids. You also get to see that the story had finally come full circle when Scout is standing by Boo's window to see everything through his eyes. I also liked how they compared Boo to the character in The Gray Ghost; people thought he was crazy, but he turned out to be good.

Reply
Shannon, Oklahoma
3/3/2013 09:46:49 am

I really liked the part of the book where Scout finally stepped into Boo Radley's shoes. I also liked when Scout compared the Grey Ghost to Boo. It was a very good ending to the book.

Reply
Bryan (OK)
3/3/2013 10:31:59 am

After I finished the book all I could think was "why havent I read this before?" The way the she tied it up all together for the end of it was awesome because I have not read many books with an ending like that.

Reply
Bryce (Indiana)
3/5/2013 11:57:58 pm

I have been done with the book for some time now. I think that the most interesting character in this story is Boo Radley. I don't see how I could ever live in my house and never go outside at least once a day. It was pretty exciting when I read the part in the end when he did come outside and saved the kids. I thought that this would have been hard for him to do when these were the kids that were always bugging him to come out. He is by far the most interesting character in which you never really find out much about him until the end.

Reply
Rocktim (Indiana)
3/6/2013 09:30:42 am

When I first started this book, it seemed slow and uninteresting. However, as the plot thickened, it got more and more interesting till the point that I couldn't put it down! Then, when Scout began describing what appeared to be the falling action with the Halloween pageant, I began losing interest. I was abruptly awakened with the sudden action, and I think the book ended very well.

Reply
Ashley(Indiana)
3/10/2013 06:39:01 am

I thought that the end of the book was really interesting. I did not expect anyone to die much less Bob Ewell. What he did was really wrong. To follow Jem and Scout home and then try and hurt them that was more of the climax of the story, well i thought. I also thought it was interesting how Scout saw Boo Radley. I wish the book was longer so you could hear what Jem had to say but I thought it was a good ending.

Reply
Annette (Indiana)
3/10/2013 07:09:27 am

I don't know about anyone else but I didn't know that Scout was a girl at first. It took me a while through the book to realize. And, about the ending, I wish it would have been more summed up. Was it just a suspicion of MINE that the sheriff killed Bob Ewell? I think it was all just in my head but Atticus seemed skeptical about him. I felt we were back in court with their heated discussion (well the sheriff was heated) and Atticus was questioning him again. I LOVED the book but I still wish the ending was more rounded out. But even so, that leaves the book with a little something extra; a mystery.

Reply
Zack (Indiana)
3/10/2013 08:29:02 am

My favorite part of this whole book the court scene. I really enjoy the whole game Atticus plays with the Ewell's. Like his little trick of having Bob Ewell sign his name. That was with his left hand, and the bruises on his daughter were on the right side. While Tom Robinson's left arm is useless. Win. When I first read this book I thought Tom would win. I was crushed when he didn't. But then again this is the south and a trail were the jury is all whites. Still got to give a lot to Atticus fro trying.

Reply
Alexsis(Indiana)
3/10/2013 09:37:45 am

Even tho I have not finished this book I have found it very good. This is defiently an inspiring book with themes that teach life stories. Speaking of the themes they are relatible and can be applied to my life and mostly everyone elses. I really liked reading about how Scout overcomes life lessons in the book and comes out a changed person. I also find Atticus as a good figure in the community of racil descrimination.

Reply
Austin (Indiana)
3/10/2013 10:09:48 am

All in all, I thought the novel was excellent; there was intensity, and inspiration. The book itself grabs the attention of the reader very well and makes you feel bad or happy for some of the characters. Also, it was nice to read a book that actually taught you a lesson about not judging someone before you meet them.

Reply
Megan B(Indiana)
3/10/2013 11:42:49 am

All and all I really liked the book. I thought it was a very good story with good themes. I really like Atticus's speech that Atticus gave. I thought it was very compelling, and tear jerking. It really made me think before judging someone and to put myself in their shoes and not write them off.

Reply
Sophie [Indiana]
3/10/2013 11:50:12 am

One thing about the book that I disliked was the ending. It felt vague at the end and I feel like the resolution wasn't really finished. It was a good story and I thought it was neat that it was very historically accurate.

Reply
Amy Hausfeld indiana
3/10/2013 01:11:11 pm

I thought the book was really slow starting out, and kind of difficult to fully amerce yourself into the plot, but once I got going I really enjoyed this book!

Reply
Zack (Indiana)
3/11/2013 07:29:08 am

I agree. when I first started this book I wasn't very interested in it and put it down a few times to go a read something else. As i made myself read more of the story I found i just wanted to keep reading. In the end I never wanted to put it down. It really was a great read.

Reply
Hayden (Indiana)
3/11/2013 07:49:51 am

I completely agree with you. The book was really slow in the beginning, but once you got past that, the book became really interesting.

Reply
Jonah (Indiana)
3/11/2013 07:52:43 am

The first few chapters I actually found interesting. The style of writing is almost reflective and nostalgic, and I think that it is really neat. The characters are all interesting, and they seem to actually be quite relatable.

Micaela (Indiana)
3/11/2013 10:03:58 am

One of my very first thoughts reading the book was about the language. I was almost shocked at how Scout was using bad words, but now that I’m towards the end of the book, I’m not as surprised. She just grew up in that kind of community. Overall, I thought the book had very good insight to that time period of the discrimination of African-Americans. It was hard for me to imagine people being treated so horribly because they were thought to be inferior. I also wondered a lot about Boo Radley. During the part of the story with the house fires, I thought that it was really considerate of Arthur to give Scout a blanket, even if she didn’t know he did.

Reply
Jon(IN)
3/11/2013 10:23:19 am

Like many other people when I first started reading this book it was extremly boring. It was kind of hard to follow because of how slow it was but once the plot and everything was revealed, the book got really good.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Cross-Country

    All our authors are students from Indiana and Oklahoma! Fun discussion and collaboration! Keep it ON TOPIC and keep it APPROPRIATE for credit. You must post at least 5 times.

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All